Kentucky State University

Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes

September 9, 2022

Submitted by Keith McCutchen, Faculty Senate President

Call to Order

Meeting was called to order with a quorum present at 9:03 am.

Approval of Agenda

Agenda was approved as presented without opposition.

Motioned - Mara Merlino

Seconded - Fariba Kashan

Approval of Minutes

Minutes were approved with modifications to senator's names:

Motioned – Changzheng Wang

Seconded - Charles Nichols

Faculty Senate President's Report President Keith McCutchen

- Overview of Faculty Senate Committees and responsibilities.
- Letter sent to KSU President during summer requesting the reinstatement of Tenure and Promotion. (Letter provided to Faculty/Senate)
- Uploaded Faculty Senate Constitution (overview PDF provided to Faculty/Senate)

Academic Affairs – Provost Hamilton (Slide Presentation Made Available)

- Number of Faculty has shifted from 122 to 107
- Work to reduce overloads
- Instructional Cost-Savings Strategies Face to Face 62%, Web Based 38%
- 1,832 Students
- Performance Rubric Completed (Performance not compliance)

Nurse's Report – Lisa Turner

New Nurse Practitioner is nurse Megan Turner

Office of Online Learning – Dr. Dailey

- Interfolio is a tool, a digital portfolio
- Two sides to Interfolio: Dossier and the Tenure Promotion/Review

Student Engagement Dean of Students, Charles Holloway

- Intern V.P. Appointed, Dr. Bridgette Goldman
- Student Ombudsman position reinstated, Ms. Sophia Rucker-Taylor

Dual Credit – Dr. Kristopher Grimes

- Change in leadership
- Students purchase textbooks
- Classes are following the KYSU schedule
- Positive response to Dual Credit by the High Schools
- Changes made to comply with SACSCOC
- Submitted a \$600,000.00 Grant for Dual Credit

Faculty Regent Report Regent Herman Walston

- Finance Committee Met
- Enrollment as of the 7th was 1,452 Students
- 1,139 Full-Time
- 192 Part-Time
- 77 Graduate School students
- 470 Freshman
- 207 Cleared
- Dates for Grant Writing Workshop: Sept. 27th and 29th

Election of sub-committee officers

ACADEMIC POLICIES COMMITTEE

- Chair: Kristopher Grimes
- Vice-Chair:
- Secretary: Whitney Lawrence

BUDGET AND ACADEMIC SUPPORT COMMITTEE

Chair: James Obielodan

• Vice-Chair: Rozina Johnson

• Secretary: Lisa Turner

CURRICULUM COMMITTEE

• Chair: Changzheng Wang

• Vice-Chair: Shawn Lucas

• Secretary: Yun Jiang

PROFESSIONAL CONCERNS COMMITTEE

• Chair: Swagata Banerjee

• **Chair:** Dharma Khatiwadi

• **Secretary:** Bobby Walter

Adjournment

The Faculty Senate adjourned at 10:48

Attendance:

Senators

Barbara Witty Buddi Gyawali

Changzheng Wang Phillip Clay

Fariba Kashan Fabriba Bigdeli-Jahed

Keith McCutchen Nkechi Amadefi

Shawn Lucas Kristopher Grimes

Bobby Walter Noel Novelo

James Obielodan Rozina Johnson

Whitney Lawrence Dharma Khatiwadi

Mara Merlino Deena McGaughey –Summers

Keturah Nix Swagata Banerjee

Tom Webster Lisa Turner

Guest

Leroy Hamilton

Bruce Griffis Berkley King Jr.

Charles Holloway LeChrista Finn

Patrese Nesbitt La'Quida Smith

Absent:

Mary Barr