Kentucky State University

Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes

August 26, 2022

Submitted by Keith McCutchen, Faculty Senate President

Call to Order

Meeting was called to order with a quorum present at 9:02 am.

Approval of Agenda

Agenda was approved as presented without opposition.

Introduction of Executive Committee

- Dr. Keith McCutchen, President
- Dr. Kristopher Grimes, Vice President
- Dr. Phillip Clay, Ex offcio (President)
- Dr. Charles Nichols, Parliamentarian
- Secretary Vacant (Request for secretary positon was made.)

Faculty Senate President's Report President Keith McCutchen

- Overview of Faculty Senate Committees and responsibilities.
- Letter sent to KSU President during summer requesting the reinstatement of Tenure and Promotion. (Letter provided to Faculty/Senate)
- Uploaded Faculty Senate Constitution (overview PDF provided to Faculty/Senate)

Faculty Regent Report Regent Herman Walston

- The new board met: June 17th, and July 15th
- Approval of Policy on Policies.
- Contract for President (Housing and Travel)
- Holiday Calendar Approved
- Internal Audit Contract
- Land Grant Project

Nurse's Report – Lisa Turner

- New Nurse Practitioner is nurse Megan Turner
- Student orientation

Student Success and Retention Director, Krissalyn Love

- Thank you to Faculty and Staff for One Stop Registration
- Completed 1st week of KSU 118
- Need faculty support to promote academic programs.

Library Report Head Librarian, Shelia Stuckey

- Library Hours are the same.
- Faculty may contact Librarian, Nkechi G. Amadife for orientation or library services.

Office of Research and Sponsored Programs Acting Director, Noel Novelo

- Thank you to those that have initiated grants this semester and are in ongoing grant/research.
- Faculty should consider IRB training through CITI group.
- Please contact Dr. Novelo for consultation.

Academic Affairs Admin. Maia Langley

• Thank you to faculty and staff for the One Stop Registration.

Student Engagement Dean of Students, Charles Holloway

• Update syllabi to have Dr. Holloway's name on syllabus for attendance.

Academic Affairs Vice-Provost Berkley King Jr.

- Thank you to faculty and advisors/staff for the work during One Stop
- Please plan to do the same for upcoming Spring 2023 Advising

Election of sub-committee officers

ACADEMIC POLICIES COMMITTEE

- Chair:
- Vice-Chair:
- Secretary:
- Kristopher Grimes
- Fariba Kashan
- Buddhi Gyawali
- Whitney Lawrence
- Mara Merlino
- Deanna McGaughey-Summers

BUDGET AND ACADEMIC SUPPORT COMMITTEE

- Chair:
- Vice-Chair:
- Secretary:
- Hideka Kobayashi
- Phillip Clay
- James Obielodan
- Mahetema Gebremdhin
- Waldemar Rossi
- Lisa Turner
- Rozina Johnson

CURRICULUM COMMITTEE

- Chair:
- Vice-Chair:
- Secretary:
- Changzheng Wang
- Shawn Lucas
- Yun Jiang
- Nkechi Amadife
- Patrese Nesbitt
- Farida Olden
- Daniel Whitworth

PROFESSIONAL CONCERNS COMMITTEE

- Chair:
- Chair:

- Secretary: •
- Swagata (Ban) Banerjee •
- Mary Barr •
- Dantrea Hampton •
- Dharma Khatiwadi
- **Bobby Walter**
- **Barbara Witty**
- **Peter Smith**

Adjournment

The Faculty Senate adjourned at 10:38

Attendance:

Senators

Barbara Witty Buddi Gyawali Changzheng Wang Phillip Clay Fariba Kashan Fabriba Bigdeli-Jahed Keith McCutchen Nkechi Amadefi Shawn Lucas Kristopher Grimes **Bobby Walter** Noel Novelo James Obielodan Rozina Johnson Mary Barr Whitney Lawrence Dharma Khatiwadi Mara Merlino Deena McGaughey – Summers LeChrista Finn Keturah Nix Swagata Banejee Tom Webster Lisa Turner

Guest

Bruce Griffis **Charles Holloway** Berkley King Jr.

Krissalyn Love

Maia Langley

Patrese Nesbitt

La'Quida Smith